Hide and Seek Part 1 by Amy Bird

Hide and Seek pic

I just love Amy Bird. Not only does she write fantastic, fast-paced, hold-your-breath style psychological thrillers but she herself is wonderfully down-to-earth, approachable and friendly. I was lucky enough to meet her at a Book Event when she was promoting her first novel – ‘Yours is Mine’ which reached No. 1 on the Amazon.com Women’s Crime chart and which I loved – I have followed her career with interest ever since.

I think part of the reason that her novels make such an impact is because the characters are so completely normal, true to life, believable and to a certain extent, FUNNY! Amy Bird is so good at writing dialogue you just can’t help chuckling. Add to this the fact that her writing style is such that I feel she is talking directly to me and I am absolutely hooked.

Each of her novels explores the issue of identity in some way which in itself is fascinating. In this, her third novel, we meet Will and Ellie – a young couple expecting their first child.

What the blurb says:

My husband has a secret. He just doesn’t know it yet. It’s a secret that some would try to hide from him – and, until now, they’ve succeeded.

But I know Will. I know he would want to discover the truth. Fortunately, I’m here to discover it for him.

Soon there’ll be no more hiding. There’ll be no more lies. And there will be a new start…for us all.

The story switches between Ellie’s and Will’s perspective and this dual narrative is incredibly effective. From Ellie we learn that Will’s parents are suffocatingly involved in their lives, and in particular in Will’s. His mother: ‘Wants her son near her at all times’.

Very soon we realise that just below the idyllic-seeming surface of their lives there are plenty of secrets and Ellie is on a mission to reveal them. Lots of questions need answering: Why are there no baby pictures of Will? What happened to Ellie’s parents? Who is Max Reigate?

Ellie reminds me very much of Amy from Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. On the one hand she seems a loving wife and soon-to-be mother but on the other, she is so determined to unearth what she must know are going to be uncomfortable truths that you can’t help wondering whether she has an ulterior motive: ‘Better get him to accept the main fact, before I move on to the others’. That said, she is refreshingly ‘unfeminine’: ‘Anger is not an appropriate response to logic’. There is definitely more to her than meets the eye and Part 2 is now downloaded and waiting for me… ‘I need to slow Will down. Or we’ll lose Leo too. And I’ll just be Ellie again. Which isn’t really what I want. I suppose’.

**

Part 1 is currently FREE on Kindle: Hide and Seek (Part 1)

Part 2 is only 59p on Kindle: Hide and Seek (Part 2)

Part 3 is only £1.89 on Kindle: Hide and Seek (Part 3)

Leave a Reply

