Here We Go Again…

Buzz

So here we are again. A pattern is emerging. Apparently I only blog when job-less! I would say that this is due to time constraints when working, but as I am now pretty much a full time mum, believe me, that just doesn’t make sense. Perhaps it has more to do with a ‘need to write’ in some capacity and I only blog when that need isn’t fulfilled through work? I really don’t know. In any case, today I blog! And we’ll see what tomorrow brings.

It has actually been a month since I was made redundant and that month has absolutely flown by. Having avoided the dreaded redundancy at least once before when working for my previous employer, i.e. the one that would have had to pay me a decent sum to shove me out the door, it seems rather a shame that it had to happen a) whilst doing the best job ever and b) having only worked for the employer for the equivalent of 5 minutes (as recognised in employment law) and therefore being entitled to precisely nothing.

This time, we took the pretty much immediate decision to take our youngest out of full time childcare. She will hereby, in a tribute to Miss Fanny P whose blog I still follow and LOVE, be referred to as “Thing-ette 2”.

Thing-ette 2 is due to start school in September and between now and then there is also the endless 6 week school holiday for Thing-ette 1 that needs ‘covering’ somehow. Add to this the fact that we have absolutely no idea how long it would take me to find another job, and it seemed sensible to cut as many outgoings as possible, as quickly as possible. Childcare was, by FAR our biggest expense.

So for now, with the exception of two three hour pre-school sessions per week, it is Thing-ette 1 and I. And so far, I will cautiously admit to having settled down well into domesticity. I am knackered, no doubt about that. But it is a different kind of knackered and for now, that’s fine by me.

In the words of the absolute genius, Buzz Lightyear “This isn’t flying; this is falling with style”. I didn’t see the fall coming, but we’ve made the best of it. I’ll start thinking about flying again soon, but for now, I’m happy where I am.

One thought on “Here We Go Again…

  1. So pleased to see your blog up and running again! Altho’ I wish you hadn’t had to lose your job in order to do so! Fx

Leave a Reply

