For Chloe

“I want to be a Fairy, Mum” said Chloe, as she pulled the nighty on over her head.

“Fairies are sooooooo lucky. They don’t have to go to proper school, only Fairy School. They don’t have to learn Maths”.

Header“In Fairyland, the sun is always shining but you never get sunburnt. Everything is green and there are flowers everywhere. I wouldn’t get told off for picking them because Fairy flowers don’t die”.

fairyland

“Fairies get to wear pretty dresses All. The. Time. Like THE best party dresses ever. They never have to wear a coat, or shoes and socks if they don’t want to. I could wear pink every single day. Even at school”.

pink fairy

“Fairies get to live in a Fairy Castle. I’d never be bored in a Fairy Castle! There would be hundreds of rooms full to the ceiling with toys. I bet they even have an Ice Cream Maker”.

Fairy castle

“Fairies can fly. Only with Fairy Dust though of course. Do you think it would make me sneeze?”

fairy dust 1

“Fairies have magic wands. I could turn Bella into a frog. Only when she was reeeeeeally naughty though”.

fairy frog

“But if I was a Fairy, could you still be my Mum?”

“Close your eyes and I’ll tell you a secret” said Mum. “At night, you can go anywhere and be anything you want to be, as long as you think about it hard enough”.

Chloe laid down and closed her eyes.

“And then in the morning I can come back to you?” she asked sleepily.

“That’s right” said Mum, kissing the tip of her nose. And she watched from the doorway as Chloe smiled and flew away into the night.

sleeping%20fairy

13 thoughts on “For Chloe

      • I thought I detected some similarities, but I didn’t want to presume. 🙂 Loved your art, especially the sleeping child.

      • Is it okay if I reblog this? Also, I’ve been toying with the idea of trying to organize a children’s Fairy tale flash fiction blog hop, say the first Friday of the month. I’d open it to illustrators, too. Would you be interested? I’d hate to throw a party and have no one come! If enough people are interested, I will try to get it off the ground.

  1. Oh, I missed your reply, and I thought you were not excited. I should have revisited sooner! I reblogged. I hope you’ll revisit. 🙂 Have a great day!!

  2. I love fairies. Have a fairy party! Go on. You know you want to. We can all dress up and ……..Sorry, getting carried away here. But do. All fairy lovers will come.x

Leave a Reply

